how our 6th month anniversary was spent (HE remembered!)

Posted on 24 September 2006. Filed under: Everyday Life |

What makes me happier than a hammer in hand? A gun in hand! 🙂 Safely of course. Geesh people. My boyfriend being the sweet guy he is traded his Savage 30-06 in for a Savage 204 Ruger so I could take on the deer this year and still have a shoulder left. I also just inherited my Dad’s two guns. Thanks Dad! 🙂 I now have a 243 Win. and a .22. The .22 is not firing right now, but my man will fixer up. Dad said if he remembers right, his Dad paid 18 dollars for the .22 brand new. Dang…. I wish I could get a gun for that.

The three of us headed out for a bit of excitement. Taking me out shooting is like watching a little kid get excited for Christmas. The guys headed out for a pole to prop up our targets, I stayed behind with the camera in hand. I shot this picture through the binoculars.

My son also got in on target practice today. He was SO ready to go shoot, but it didn’t take long before he said his shoulder hurt. He still had a blast though. Here they are getting ready.

Here’s one of his shots and the hole in the metal pole he left also! Nice shot son! 🙂

And here’s my first target – not bad eh?! Yep that deer woulda been mine – SOO can’t wait for season to open.

And here’s my boyfriends target.

We also headed out for a bit of prairie dog hunting. I’m a deer hunter – those damn little targets are impossible. I did get my shot in on one of them damn things and blew its nose, mouth and one eye off.

So even tho this maybe wouldn’t  have been how I would have decided to spend our 6 month….. a day playing with guns, climbing hills, splashing thru the mud, ALMOST getting stuck (good driving babe – so we didn’t get stuck!), watching the antelope be dumb, shootin prairie dogs and thinking we had a flat tire (it was just forgetting to shut the 4-wheel drive off – oops! that was him NOT me! hehe :-)), it was an AWESOME day and we’ll be doing it again soon.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “how our 6th month anniversary was spent (HE remembered!)”

RSS Feed for reformattingmybrain Comments RSS Feed

Ha ha! That sounds so fun. Glad the weather finally let up for you guys to be able to do that — The J man’s a pretty dang good shot!

I think if my dad could get a gun for eighteen bucks he’d go to every auction in the county!

Have a great week!

Looks like you guys had a good weekend! Pretty impressive shooting, too!
Since you’ve brought the topic of gun ownership up I’ll think I’ll expound on it a bit in my blog. Hope you don’t mind. 🙂

p.s. Forgot to mention… how wonderful that he remembered the date!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Wildtree

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

