baby stuff

Posted on 11 April 2007. Filed under: baby, family, nursery furniture, pregnancy |

I keep thinking of what I have, what I have to do and what I don’t have. So here’s what we do have.

Our crib – absolutely love it. It changes from crib to toddler bed to day bed to full size bed. What a way to get your monies worth! Plus I’m just jacked to have bought a crib. My first pregnancy, I was at home, and I owe my parents and family a million thanks for all their help. This was my turn to have all the baby stuff I wanted. Yes I’m totally nesting!

After tonight we’ll have the matching changing table/dresser. It’s much cheaper to go that route than my original route. See if I (one of the biggest penny pincher’s) can get accused of wasting more money. (Sorry – Most of you won’t know what that’s all about. It’s something that’s been a huge problem and hypocritical people have made it worse. I’m a bit, okay a LOT, upset about the whole ordeal.) Anyway……….

A play pen. A must for the little man to hang out while I work. Suppose he’ll learn to fall asleep to the sound of the mouse and clicking keys πŸ™‚ Okay so I’m dreaming this is going to work out real nice. LOL When it doesn’t it’ll be on to Plan B. Don’t ask what Plan B is….. I’ve yet to think of one. Thanks to Gramma and Papa for this. I got it for Christmas from my parents.

And a stroller. I imagine this will get lots of use. I’ve always thought this baby car seat/stroller combo thing would come in handy. I can’t wait to try it out. In fact, after I got it, I was tempted (big time) to ask somebody to go for a walk and try it out with me πŸ™‚ Yes I know, I’m a total dork. hehe This is the Baby Trend Flex-Loc car seat. Gramma spotted an article in Consumer Reports and this was the #1 rated car seat. My son wanted to know why I wasn’t using his old car seat. I didn’t think an 8 year old car seat would be quite up to safety standards anymore.

Oh yeah – I almost forgot – we also have two throw pillows! hehe πŸ™‚ Talk about feeling completely unprepared right now! So I’m curious to hear what some of your favorite baby purchases have been – the biggest life savers, baby’s favorites, etc.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “baby stuff”

RSS Feed for reformattingmybrain Comments RSS Feed

So far, we’ve picked up our play pen and high chair, which were on sale. My in-laws gifted us with our stroller/carseat combo, and my mom is buying us the swing we want (yay!).

I hear that the Diaper Champ is the best disposal system, because you can use regular bags, and it works for cloth diapers too.

And you’re right – I forget what the “age limit” on carseats is, but I’m pretty sure that 8 years is getting up there! πŸ™‚

Goodness, my baby is due way before yours and I don’t even have a crib for him yet! Good thing I have everything else. I don’t wanna buy a new crib…I’m a cheapo and I don’t care how things look that much…we’ll see what I can find at the kids swap this saturday. Your stuff looks lovely. I’m glad you got a change table/dresser because you don’t use the table for long. I never had one…just a mat. The floor is a fine place to change a bum!

my baby is due in 5 weeks and i still feel unprepared but i have to agree with you the crib. we also have a crib that converts to a toddler bed and then a full size bed. it’s wonderful.. and the stroller/carseat combo.. got that as well.. and i decided just to buy a changing pad that i can put on top of the dresser (the baby dresser is lower than most, and has a wide top). i figured this would be way more handy then buying a changing table. it looks like you’ve got an idea.. and really, what else do you need? you are almost there. throw pillows and all. πŸ™‚

I would say that one of the best things we got was a baby swing.

You seem to be doing well. I think we got most of our stuff the last 2 months. Since you have a son, you probably know what you like to use, but I’ll mention a few ideas.

I can’t say that in the first 3 months anything worked really well. The swing was ok sometimes. I didn’t buy a bouncer, but they have them at the daycare & the babies seem to love them. They might be better than a swing.

I would recommend getting a cheap stroller too ($15). The nice big one works well for many things, but those light ones come in handy.

By the way, don’t ever listen to people who critize you for spending too much money on your child. πŸ™‚ That is what moms do!

oops – criticize (now you can criticize me for submitting before I’m ready)

Kait: I’m used to hauling all diapers straight to the garbage outside – but in the winter it would be nice to not make so many trips out in the cold – I’ll check into that – Thanks! πŸ™‚

pluckymama: I was so excited to buy a crib this time. I’m nesting πŸ™‚ Depending on my attitude in a couple years I’d like to have another baby so little man has someone to play with. Beings as my son is 8 and baby is a bit behind πŸ™‚

Jess: I have the big stuff – now I need bedding πŸ™‚ Yeah, I don’t imagine I’ll use the changing table part all the time – but I liked this dresser better than the plain dresser that went with our crib. Similar cost.

Kristy: I have my swing from my son. I imagine it’s still okay, even though it’s 8 years old πŸ™‚

FFG: Thanks for the ideas and the last comment. I haven’t wasted any money on baby stuff. It’s been very frustrating with someone trying to tell me that. I simply want to buy some things for our baby πŸ™‚ You’re right – it’s what Moms do! So sue us – we love our kids!

hey girl! Im alive! we’ve been on vacation in Hilton Head and i’ve not gotten into writing mode yet. Ill post some pics too. We have the same baby furniture!! I love the changing table/dresser combo. I really like the pack and play you have too. I cant tell much about your stroller though, you mentioned it was rated one of the safest, what brand is it? I got this thing at Walmart that glides back and forth and you can rotate it, my friend says her 3 week old loves it, its reall nice!! I’ll post a pic on my webpage soon of it. I love the Zanzibar theme from Babies R Us!! Isnt it fun doing the nursery!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

