why 8 year olds don’t plan weddings….

Posted on 1 May 2007. Filed under: 8 year olds, baby, Everyday Life, family, Kid Time, pain, sleep, weddings |

My son and I sat for about an hour and a half last night just talking about ALL kinds of things. It was extremely entertaining. One topic that was brought up was that we needed to have a wedding. (We are Common Law) I tried explaining to him that according to the state we are married, but he wasn’t buying it. In his mind…. the only way to be married is to have a wedding. I even said my parents didn’t have a wedding so why should I have to? His response…… Well….. you and (husband) are the TYPE of people to have a wedding and Gramma and Papa aren’t. His response to my question of WHY? Apparently we kiss too much… they don’t. Alrighty then. ๐Ÿ˜› So then I tried the old excuse of weddings cost money and we can’t afford a wedding right now. And this is when he started planning a cheap wedding. I thought it sounded more hillbillyish, but whatever. My dress would be made from my favorite blanket (which he spotted while sitting on the couch), my flowers would be a fake bouquet that’s under the coffee table, we’ll have it in our back yard, my Mom is the Maid of Honor and (husband’s) Dad is the Best Man, my son is the ring bearer (SCORE! I’ll finally have a ring!!) and my husband’s daughter is the flower girl, I can also invite a few friends to come if I’d like, my honeymoon is to New York, or if I want to save even more money we can go to a town which is about 4 hours away. And that my friends is my wedding planned by my 8 year old son. I think I’ll just stick to no wedding for now ๐Ÿ™‚

On the pregnancy side of things…… I won’t lie….. today I’m crabby and tired and very sore. I have a terrible pain in the middle of my back and directly opposite that spot on my rib cage. It’s been there for days, it’s uncomfortable to sit, most comfortable to be standing. Not sure what’s going on, but it’s about got me bursting into tears from constant pain. I went to sleep early last night watching the guys play Play Station. After getting up and tucking my son into bed, I had a couple more hours of sleep before I was awakened by the TV for the millionth time (I hate the TV on when I’m sleeping) and went to my bed. I was saying yesterday all I wanted to do was curl up in my bed with all my pillows and sleep like I normally sleep. Well I tried it last night, after an hour of tossing and turning I settled into a non-comfortable spot and fell asleep for a little while….. I’m going back to my couch recliner tonight. It was a restless night and an early morning. So to all those who have to be around me today….. I’m trying my damnedest to be a pleasant person, I really really am.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “why 8 year olds don’t plan weddings….”

RSS Feed for reformattingmybrain Comments RSS Feed

I think your 8 year olds plan is sweet. . . .very funny.

Your lucky he is so resourceful – hopefully when gets married himself he is as resourceful!

I have the exact same pain that goes from my back to the front of my ribcage. My chiro gave me a glorious crack and that took care of it few weeks…its coming back now. Sitting too much hurts it but laying down makes it feel better.

Joey: I’m always trying to teach to save save save – guess it’s working a little bit ๐Ÿ™‚ Phew!

pluckymama: Maybe that’s what I need to try – although I’m terrified of chiropractors! But….. this pain is un-real. Sitting is awful – I want to be standing and walking all day but I can’t drag my computer with me ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m sorry you’re feeling so lousy! I’d like to say it’ll get better, but we both know it may not for awhile ๐Ÿ™‚
Our first bike was a Honda Shadow too!! We actually still have it. It’s a gorgeous bike and we’ve loved riding it for years. it’s always been a dream of my hubbys to have a Harley, so when the opportunity arose, even though we were very pregnant, I encouraged him to go for it! Keeping the men in our lives happy makes for a better future! Hey, and an extra bargaining tool when I want that boob job!!!!!

Beverly: Good Luck with that boob job ๐Ÿ™‚ ….. I’ve tried everything….. it’s not working.

Oh my. Nothing like getting married in a blanket! ๐Ÿ˜›

my chiro saved my life this pregnancy. I refused to go last pregnancy and now I feel like a hoser because they aren’t scary at all. I can’t believe what he’s done for me and how easy it it! GO!

Kait: I even got permission to invite a few friends! lol

pluckymama: I don’t even crack my knuckles! So to let someone else crack me….. oh boy! My husband is always cracking his back and neck and every single thing he can crack on his body. I swear his heads going to fall off from all that neck cracking! Eeeeew gross! ๐Ÿ™‚

I like your son’s plan. Hehe. In the computer game “The Sims”, if two sims get married, they have it right where the man or woman proposes (which could be in the bathroom), and the wedding costs 1,000 bucks and that’s it! They don’t have to spend money on a wedding dress or suit, because they just jump in the air and turn and they’re all suited up. I like that style too. ๐Ÿ˜€

Your son is just too cute.

Oh and I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling so crappy. Sending you hugs. ๐Ÿ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

