baby steps @ storytime

Posted on 2 October 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

As we know my little C is a Momma’s boy, which obviously can have it’s advantages and disadvantages. If you are the parent of a clingy child you wish they weren’t so clingy, if you’re the parent of an overly independent child you wish they were a little more clingy. Isn’t that how life mostly works anyway, we always think the grass is greener on the other side.

We started storytime at the library a few weeks back. I often encourage C to sit on the rug with the other kids and listen to the stories and do the finger plays. He just hasn’t wanted to, he’s much more comfortable sitting with Mom and keeping a death grip on my fingers.

Today we took a baby step towards sitting/playing with the other kids. He finally sat on the rug right in front of me, but he made sure I was there with him the entire time. He’d reach back and touch my leg, turn around and smile or turn around and just simply say Mom and see that I was there and then be fine to continue sitting. I am very excited that he sat there the entire time. Baby steps.

Day 1 was having a death grip on me, often hiding his face or climbing up me like somebody was going to snatch him up.

Day 2 was just sitting on my lap but keeping a hold of my fingers.

Day 3 was sitting right in front of me and keeping good track of me.

Storytime also does a good job of wearing him out and allowing him to come home and take a good nap. He also lays down on his own after this. Odd. Why does he lay down so easily on his own after being gone, but when we are home together all morning nap time is a nightmare.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

